Call to Action!!

The House Transportation and Defense Committee will have our Bill, H129, before it on Thursday, February 26th, at 1:30 p.m.

This is our bill to allow OHVs to operate on numbered state highways (except freeways) within city limits where the speed limit is 45 mph or less. Rep. Gestrin is our committee sponsor.

Here is a link to the bill – http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/legislation/2015/H0129.htm

Please encourage your members to attend and support this legislation. Also, please encourage your members to email committee members in support of the bill. Below is a list of the committee members and their email addresses.

Chair Joe Palmer jpalmer@house.idaho.gov
Vice Chair Paul E. Shepherd pshepherd@house.idaho.gov
Richard Wills rwills@house.idaho.gov
Linden B. Bateman lbateman@house.idaho.gov
Terry Gestrin tgestrin@house.idaho.gov
Brandon A. Hixon bhixon@house.idaho.gov
Clark Kauffman ckauffman@house.idaho.gov
Kelley Packer kpacker@house.idaho.gov
Rick D. Youngblood ryoungblood@house.idaho.gov
Patrick McDonald pmcdonald@house.idaho.gov
Sage Dixon sdixon@house.idaho.gov
Steven Harris sharris@house.idaho.gov
James Holtzclaw jholtzclaw@house.idaho.gov
Jason A. Monks jmonks@house.idaho.gov
Phylis K. King pking@house.idaho.gov
Dan Rudolph drudolph@house.idaho.gov
Melissa Wintrow mwintrow@house.idaho.gov

Thank you all for your support. Remember that calls, emails and personal attendance make a difference, so we really need to rally.

 

IRC 2015 Summer Meeting Aug 9th in McCall

The summer meeting for the Idaho Recreational Council will be held in conjunction with the Idaho ATV Association meeting in McCall Idaho, on August 9th at Mile High Power Sports at 1 o’clock P.M. More details will be provided as the time gets nearer but there will be a full weekend of activities going on with IATVA, and we are invited to participate in all.

Shoot out to ALL Prospectors – Bill 51

February 11th, at 1:30PM a reading of Bill 51 will take place at the state capital in room EW 40.

ALL THAT CAN MAKE THIS MEETING – –

IT IS IMPORTANT THAT WE HAVE A GOOD SHOWING FROM THE PROSPECTING COMMUNITY.

REMEMBER OUR STRENGTH IS IN THE NUMBERS SHOW UP.

COME EARLY AND SIGN IN AND BE COUNTED.

DATE: February 11, 2015
TIME: 1:30 PM ROOM: EW40

Senators introduce bill to stop unilateral monument designations

Sens. Michael Crapo (R-Idaho), James Risch (R-Idaho) and David Vitter (R-La.) have introduced S. 228, the National Monument Designation Transparency and Accountability Act of 2015.

The legislation would amend the American Antiquities Act of 1906 to require congressional approval and National Environmental Policy Act compliance for the designation of new national monuments.

Please fill out the form below and click the red “Submit” button to urge your senators to support S. 228.

The AMA believes this would be an important step toward ensuring all affected stakeholders have an opportunity to be heard before these important designations are made. It would also require public input before management changes are made to designated areas.

The designation of a National Monument is significant for recreational opportunities and local economies. While there are cultural and historical landmarks that deserve the designation of National Monument, the AMA believes Congress and the public must be consulted before any action is taken.

The American Motorcyclist Association opposes unilateral executive declarations that do not allow full public debate about the disposition of public lands. Indeed, every designation deserves to be considered individually to allow time for thoughtful deliberation and input from all affected user groups, local and state elected officials and Congress. Without this careful local consultation, a new land use designation can create negative economic and social effects, such as reduced tourism and fewer open areas on which to recreate.

If you are not yet an AMA member, please join the AMA to help us fight efforts to restrict responsible motorized recreation. More members means more clout against our opponents, and your support will help us fight for your riding rights – on the road, trail, racetrack, and in the halls of government. To join, go to AmericanMotorcyclist.com/membership/join.

Please Follow the AMA on Twitter @AMA_Rights and like us on Facebook.

We submit your correspondence through officials’ contact forms and therefore must provide the information that they require. To ensure that your response is successfully transmitted, please fill out the form above

A House Committee Hearing–We need you to attend to lend your support to the recreational miners

When: February 11, Wednesday
Time: 1:30 pm-EW 40
Subject: H 51

STATEMENT OF PURPOSE
RS23379
This bill recognizes the de minimus nature of suction dredge mining and tries to free this important small business vocation from unreasonable regulation. This bill further clarifies that the State of Idaho finds that a “bright line” threshold of “addition of pollutants” is not met by activities that transfer water and aggregate within the same body of water. This bill recognizes the existence of Federal Mining Claims under the 1872 Mining Act and amendments as being Congressionally granted rights to real property in every sense of the word. No agency of the State and no agency of the Federal Government may abridge those rights by regulatory scheme or by long permit delays. We recognize that environmental laws have been effective statewide and no unnecessary burdens are warranted on the suction dredge mining community for undocumented harm to aquatic habitat and assumed harm to free swimming fish. Therefore for this bill being necessary for the promotion of small business as evidenced in the words reiterated in the Organic Administration Act of 1897; “citizens are entitled to enter public lands for the purpose of prospecting and removing mineral deposits…” without material interference.